ما هو تأثير الصحة العقلية للوالدين على الأطفال؟



لا توجد رابطة أقرب من تلك التي تربط بين أحد الوالدين وطفلهما. تعتبر الروابط البيولوجية والنفسية التي تربط الوالدين والأطفال أساسية لنمو الطفل البدني والعاطفي. لسوء الحظ ، الأبوة ليست شاعرية كما هو موضح على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي أو في صفحات مجلات الأبوة والأمومة اللامعة. علاوة على ذلك ، فإن الأطفال هم مستقبلات حساسة لضيق الوالدين - والتي قد تنبع من مصادر مثل العزلة الاجتماعية ، أو المصاعب الاقتصادية ، أو الطلاق ، أو المرض العقلي الحاد أو المزمن - ونتيجة لذلك ، قد يكونون عرضة للإصابة بالاضطرابات العقلية نفسها.

للأسف ، يوجد العديد من الأطفال اليوم في رعاية أحد الوالدين الذي ، في مرحلة ما ، سيعاني من درجة معينة من المرض العقلي. قد يكون هذا خفيفًا ، مثل الاكتئاب المتقطع أو القلق ، أو أكثر حدة ، مثل الاضطراب ثنائي القطب أو الفصام. كما أن عدد الأسر التي يتعاطى أحد والديها المخدرات أو الكحول آخذ في الازدياد ، مما يؤثر سلبًا على الأطفال.

اضطرابات الصحة العقلية الشائعة عند الآباء والأطفال

اضطرابات القلق

في حين أن الجميع يعاني من القلق ، إلا أنه في بعض الأفراد يمكن أن يصبح ساحقًا ويتداخل مع الحياة اليومية. تشمل الأنواع الشائعة لاضطرابات القلق ما يلي:

● اضطرابات الهلع
● الرهاب
● اضطراب القلق المعمم (GAD)
● اضطراب القلق الاجتماعي

تعتبر العوامل الوراثية والتوتر من العوامل العديدة التي يعتقد العلماء أنها تسبب اضطرابات القلق. بالإضافة إلى الضغوط الخارجية التي قد تثير القلق ، تدعم الدراسات الأدلة على أن اضطرابات القلق تنتشر في العائلات.

الاكتئاب

تشمل أسباب الاكتئاب ما يلي:

● الصدمة
● علم الوراثة - اضطرابات المزاج وخطر الانتحار متوارث في العائلات
● هيكل الدماغ
● تعاطي المخدرات والكحول

أظهرت الأبحاث أن الطفل الذي تعاني أمه من الاكتئاب ، قبل الولادة أو بعدها ، هو أكثر عرضة للإصابة باضطراب نفسي أربع مرات.

ضغوط على عائلات اليوم

لا يتسبب مرض كوفيد -19 في مشاكل صحية جسدية فحسب ، بل له أيضًا تأثير كبير على الصحة العقلية للوالدين ، مما يؤدي إلى زيادة التوتر والقلق والاكتئاب ، من بين الاضطرابات النفسية الأخرى. يكافح العديد من الآباء - إذا كانوا محظوظين بما يكفي للحصول على وظائف - للعمل من المنزل أثناء الإشراف على التعلم عن بعد. حتى الأطفال الصغار جدًا يلتقطون بسهولة عدم اليقين والقلق لدى والديهم بشأن الوضع الحالي للتعليم والمستقبل ، مما قد يجعلهم قلقين.

أسلوب الأبوة والأمومة عامل آخر. من بين أنماط الأبوة الأربعة التي حددتها عالمة النفس التنموي ديانا بومريند ، الأبوة الاستبدادية (المعروفة أيضًا بالانضباط) - التي تتميز بعدم الاستجابة ، ووضع قواعد صارمة وتوقعات عالية ، والمطالبة بالطاعة العمياء - ترتبط بالأمراض العقلية وزيادة خطر تعاطي المخدرات والكحول في الأطفال. وبالمقارنة ، فإن الأطفال الذين يتم تربيتهم على يد أحد الوالدين أو الوالدين الذين يتبعون نهجًا موثوقًا في تربية الأطفال - أسلوب يجمع بين الحساسية والدفء والإعداد المحدود واستخدام التعزيز الإيجابي - هم أقل عرضة للإبلاغ عن الاكتئاب والقلق وإظهار معاداة اجتماعي السلوكيات.

تتآمر هذه العوامل وغيرها معًا لجعل الأطفال أقل مرونة وتعيق قدرتهم على الهروب من الأضرار الجانبية التي يسببها المرض العقلي لأحد الوالدين. يكون خطر الإصابة بمرض عقلي أو اضطراب عقلي أكبر بالنسبة للأطفال الذين لديهم استعداد وراثي

الرابط: https://online.regiscollege.edu/blog/parental-mental-health/

العودة الى بلوزة
اغلاق زوم
Arabic English

اتصل الآن

لا يمكنك نسخ محتوى هذه الصفحة

What Impact Does Parental Mental Health Have on Children?



No bond is closer than the one between a parent and their child. The biological and psychological ties that bind parents and children are fundamental to a child’s physical and emotional development. Unfortunately, parenthood isn’t as idyllic as pictured on social media or in the pages of glossy parenting magazines. Furthermore, children are sensitive receptors of parental distress — which may stem from such sources as social isolation, economic hardship, divorce, or acute or chronic mental illness — and, as a result, may be vulnerable to developing mental disorders themselves.

Sadly, many children today are in the care of a parent who, at some point, will experience some degree of mental illness. This could be mild, such as intermittent depression or anxiety, or more severe, such as bipolar disorder or schizophrenia. Also, the number of households with a parent who abuses drugs or alcohol is rising, negatively impacting children.

Common Mental Health Disorders in Parents and Children

Anxiety Disorders

While everyone has anxiety, in some individuals it can become overwhelming and interfere with daily life. Common types of anxiety disorders include:

● Panic disorders
● Phobias
● Generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)
● Social anxiety disorder

Genetics and stress are chief among the many factors scientists believe cause anxiety disorders. In addition to outside stresses that may trigger anxiety, studies support evidence that anxiety disorders run in families.

Depression

Causes of depression include:

● Trauma
● Genetics — mood disorders and risk of suicide run in families
● Brain structure
● Drug and alcohol abuse

Research has shown that a child whose mother suffers from depression, before or after birth, is four times more likely to develop a psychiatric disorder.

Stresses on Today’s Families

Not only is COVID-19 causing physical health concerns, but it’s also having a significant impact on parental mental health, fueling a rise in stress, anxiety, and depression, among other psychological disorders. Many parents — if they’re lucky enough to still have jobs — are struggling to work from home while overseeing remote learning. Even very young children easily pick up on their parents’ uncertainty and anxiety about the current state of education and the future, which may cause them to become anxious.

Parenting style is yet another factor. Of the four parenting styles defined by developmental psychologist Diana Baumrind, authoritarian (aka disciplinarian) parenting — characterized by being unresponsive, setting strict rules and high expectations, and demanding blind obedience — is associated with mental illness and an increased risk for drug and alcohol abuse in children. By comparison, children raised by a parent or parents who take an authoritative approach to child-rearing –– one that combines sensitivity, warmth, limit setting and the use of positive reinforcement –– are less likely to report depression and anxiety and to exhibit antisocial behaviors.

Together, these and other factors are conspiring to make children less resilient and are hindering their ability to escape the collateral damage caused by a parent’s mental illness. The risk of developing a mental illness or mental disorder is even greater for those children with a genetic predisposition

Link: https://online.regiscollege.edu/blog/parental-mental-health/

Tell us about your thoughtsWrite message

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top
Close Zoom
Arabic English

Call Now

You cannot copy content of this page