معهد مايند قطر لخدمات الصحة النفسية. العلاج النفسي

 
العناق فوق المخدرات: كيف يؤثر الإفراط في وصف الأدوية في مجتمعنا على أطفالنا.

في مقال حديث لجيل أديرال بقلم كيسي شوارتز في مجلة نيويورك تايمز. تروي شوارتز بشكل مؤلم تجربتها كمدمنة على الأديرال انتقلت من مراهقة قلقة إلى طالبة عالية الأداء في جامعة براون إلى كاتبة مستقلة لا تستطيع العمل بدون الأمفيتامين. كانت المقالة قوية للغاية ومزعجة بالنسبة لي كمحلل نفسي وخبير في توجيه الوالدين. في ممارستي الخاصة كمحلل نفسي ، كانت الزيادة في مشكلات الصحة العقلية لدى الأطفال الصغار والمراهقين والشباب شيئًا أنا في الصف الأول في التعامل معه. دفعني هذا المد المتصاعد إلى كتابة كتابي ، التواجد هناك؛ لماذا إعطاء الأولوية للأمومة في السنوات الثلاث الأولى مهم، كل ما يمكننا فعله حيال ذلك كأم وكمجتمع.

لقد وجدت صوت السيدة شوارتز مقنعًا بصفتي امرأة شابة كان من السهل جدًا تشخيص إصابتها باضطراب فرط الحركة ونقص الانتباه عندما كانت صغيرة ، وقاومت الكشف عن الأصول والمعنى الأعمق لأعراضها عندما كانت أكبر سناً ، ووقعت في فخ العلاج النفسي الدوائي يتم توزيعها في وقت مبكر جدًا ، بسهولة شديدة وبدون إدراك للعواقب طويلة المدى. 

حقيقة أننا نعيش في مجتمع يفضل التخلص من أعراضنا بدلاً من التفكير في الأسباب أو التفكير فيها كما تقول السيدة شوارتز في مقالها "كنت أعرف ما يكفي عن علم النفس لتجنب المحللين النفسيين الذين يرغبون في التعمق والتحدث بالنسبة لي لأسابيع وربما شهور حول سبب شعوري بالحاجة إلى التعزيز الكيميائي - لا لم أستطع اللجوء إليهم ". إن الحاجة في مجتمعنا إلى الإشباع الفوري والافتقار إلى الاستبطان أو التفكير متضمنة للأسف في سرد ​​هذه الشابة المفصلة لتجربتها. 

لدينا أزمة صحية عقلية في بلدنا مع ملايين الأطفال الذين يتناولون أدوية نفسية-دوائية لاضطرابات التنظيم العاطفي ولا نريد حتى معرفة سبب حدوث ذلك ، نريد فقط إصلاح الأعراض وجعلها تختفي. لقد حان الوقت للتوقف عن معالجة الأعراض بشكل سطحي وإلقاء نظرة على ما أعتبره المشكلة الحقيقية وهو كيف أصبح أطفالنا أكثر هشاشة عاطفيًا ويفتقرون إلى المرونة في مواجهة التوتر والقدرة على تنظيم مشاعرهم.  

قدرتنا من خلال العلاج النفسي للأطفال لتنظيم عواطفنا ، أو كما تشير السيدة شوارتز إلى أن التوازن العاطفي ليس شيئًا نولد به ، ولكنه شيء نتعلمه من التفاعلات المبكرة مع أمهاتنا أو مقدمي الرعاية الأساسيين. أظهرت أبحاث علم الأعصاب وعلم التخلق أنه مهما كانت النزعة الجينية التي قد يمتلكها الطفل تجاه الحساسية العاطفية التي من شأنها أن تميله نحو المرض العقلي ، يمكن تحييدها من قبل الأم الحساسة والمراعية أو مقدم الرعاية الأساسي الذي يقضي أيامها في السنوات الثلاث الأولى في حماية طفلها. من الإجهاد ، وتنظيم عواطفها من لحظة إلى أخرى وإدخال الإحباط ببطء فقط الذي يمكن للطفل التحكم فيه أو التعامل معه وبالتالي زيادة الأمان العاطفي للطفل وقدرته على تحمل الإجهاد.

أظهرت الأبحاث أيضًا أنه عندما يدخل طفل أو مراهق أو بالغ في العلاج النفسي الديناميكي أو الانعكاسي الذي يوفر الرعاية والتعاطف والتبصر في الاحتياجات العاطفية للفرد ، عندها فقط يمكن أن تحدث عملية التطور المتقطع للقدرة على تنظيم العواطف. يبدأ الدماغ الأيمن المسؤول عن التنظيم العاطفي والذي قد يكون قد تعطل نموه في مرحلة الطفولة في الواقع في التطور مرة أخرى.

إذن ماذا يقول هذا عن أمتنا أننا نعالج مشاكلنا الاجتماعية والعلائقية ونعرض أطفالنا لخطر كبير للإدمان ناهيك عن مدى الحياة من الألم والمعاناة والعواقب العصبية المحتملة طويلة المدى التي لم نكشف عنها بعد. عندما نتجنب الألم في الوقت الحاضر من خلال علاجه بعيدًا بدلاً من النظر إلى العلاقات التي قد تسببه ، فقد نؤجل هذا الألم إلى تاريخ لاحق وفي هذه الحالة تكون شدة الألم أكبر.

https://www.care.com/c/stories/7778/hugs-over-drugs-how-our-societys-over-presc/

العودة الى بلوزة
اغلاق زوم
Arabic English

اتصل الآن

لا يمكنك نسخ محتوى هذه الصفحة

Mind Institute Qatar Mental Health Services. Psychotherapy

 
Hugs over Drugs: How our society’s over prescribing affects our children.

In a recent article Generation Adderall by Casey Schwartz in The New York Times Magazine.  Schwartz painfully recounts her experience as an Adderall addict going from an anxious teenager to a high performing Brown University student to a freelance writer who couldn’t function without amphetamine.  The article was so powerful and upsetting for me as a psychoanalyst and parent guidance expert.  In my private practice as a psychoanalyst, the increase in mental health issues in young children, adolescents and young adults has been something I’m on the front line of dealing with. This  rising tide drove me to write my book, Being There; Why Prioritizing Motherhood in the First Three Years Matters, all about what we can do about it as mothers and as a society.

I found Ms. Schwartz’s voice compelling as a young woman who was too easily diagnosed with ADHD when she was young, who resisted uncovering the origins and deeper meaning of her symptoms when older, who got trapped on the psycho-pharmacological merry go round of medication handed out too young, too easily and without recognition of the long term consequences. 

The fact that we live in a society that would rather medicate away our symptoms than think about or be reflective on the causes as Ms. Schwartz says in her article “I knew enough about psychology to avoid the psychoanalysts who would want to go deep and talk to me for weeks and maybe months about why I felt I needed chemical enhancement – no I couldn’t turn to them.”  The need in our society for immediate gratification and lack of introspection or reflection is sadly implied in this articulate young woman’s recounting of her experience. 

We have a mental health crisis in our country with millions of children on psycho-pharmacological medications for disorders of emotional regulation and we don’t even want to know why it is happening, we just want to fix the symptoms and make them go away.  It is time to stop superficially addressing symptoms and look at what I consider to be the real problem which is how our children have become increasingly fragile emotionally and lack the resilience to stress and the ability to regulate their own emotions.  

Our ability by Psychotherapy to regulate our emotions, or as Ms. Schwartz refers to as emotional homeostasis is not something we are born with, but rather something we learn from the earliest interactions with our mothers or primary caregivers.  Neuroscience and Epigenetics research has now shown us that whatever genetic proclivity a child may have toward emotional sensitivity that would incline them toward mental illness can be neutralized by a sensitive and nurturing mother or primary caregiver who spends her days in the first three years buffering her child from stress, regulating her emotions from moment to moment and only slowly introducing frustration that a child can manage or cope with thereby increasing that child’s emotional security and ability to tolerate stress.

Research has also shown that when a child, adolescent or adult enters into psychodynamic or reflective psychotherapy that provides nurturing, empathy and insight into an individual’s emotional needs, only then can the process of interrupted development of the ability to regulate emotions take place.  The right brain which is responsible for emotional regulation and whose development may have been disrupted in childhood actually starts to develop again.

So what does this say about our nation that we are medicating away our social and relational problems and putting our children at great risk for addiction not to mention a lifetime of pain and suffering and possible long term neurological consequences we have yet to uncover.  When we avoid pain in the present by medicating it away rather than looking at the relationships that may be causing it we may only be deferring that pain to a later date in which case the intensity of the pain is greater.

https://www.care.com/c/stories/7778/hugs-over-drugs-how-our-societys-over-presc/

Back to Top
Close Zoom
Arabic English

Call Now